
Royal Oppression - DB2-EN200 - Rare - Unlimited Edition
Out Of Stock
Extra Info
- Card Rules: Rulings powered by The Netrep API. There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster. The first way is with a Spell Card like 'Monster Reborn', a Trap Card like 'Call of the Haunted', or an Effect Monster like 'Magical Scientist'. The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as 'Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning' or 'Dark Necrofear'. 'Royal Oppression' can negate both of these types of Special Summon. In the first case, you chain the activation of 'Royal Oppression''s effect to the activation of the Spell, Trap, or Monster Card's effect, and negate the effect. In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for 'Horn of Heaven' or 'Solemn Judgment'). Example 1: If 'Marauding Captain' is Normal Summoned, its effect activates. You can chain to this effect by activating the effect of 'Royal Oppression'. The effect of 'Marauding Captain' is negated, no monster is Special Summoned, and the 'Marauding Captain' is destroyed. (The monster your opponent intended to Special Summon with the effect of 'Marauding Captain' remains in his hand.) Example 2: If 'Cyber Jar' is Flip Summoned and its Flip Effect activates, you can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' in a chain to the Flip Effect. The effect of 'Cyber Jar' is negated, no monsters on the field are destroyed by its effect, no cards are picked up, no monsters are Special Summoned, and 'Cyber Jar' is destroyed by the effect of 'Royal Oppression'. Example 3: If 'Call of the Haunted' is activated, you can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' in a chain. The effect of 'Call of the Haunted' is negated, and a monster is not Special Summoned. The effects of face-up Trap Cards cannot be activated during the Damage Step, so this card's effect cannot negate the Special Summoning of a monster by the effect of 'Mystic Tomato' or a 'Cyber Jar' flipped face-up by an attack. You can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' as a chain to 'Monster Gate'. No cards will be picked up, and no monster will be Special Summoned (The opponent still must have Tributed a monster as a cost). You can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' to negate an effect that Summons 1 monster, or Summons multiple monsters (like 'Cyber Jar', 'The Shallow Grave', or 'Valkyrion the Magna Warrior'). When 'Monster Reborn' is activated to Special Summon 'Jinzo', you can activate the effect of 'Royal Oppression' in a chain to negate the Special Summon because 'Jinzo' is not on the field until the chain resolves. If you have 'Royal Oppression' face-up on your side of the field, and your opponent attempts to Special Summon 'Dark Necrofear', and you activate the effect of your 'Royal Oppression', then 'Dark Necrofear' will activate its effect in the Graveyard and return to the field as an Equip Spell Card. But if your opponent had 'Royal Oppression' face-up on his side of the field, and you activate the effect of your opponent's 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon of your opponent's 'Dark Necrofear', then 'Dark Necrofear' does not activate its effect in the Graveyard, because it was destroyed by an effect controlled by its owner, not by its owner's opponent (even though the owner did not activate the effect, he still controls the 'Royal Oppression' card). When 'Insect Queen' destroys your opponent's monster, an 'Insect Monster Token' is Special Summoned during the End Phase, and the effect of 'Royal Oppression' can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy 'Insect Queen'. When 'Jam Breeding Machine' activates its effect to Special Summon a 'Slime Token' in the Standby Phase, and the effect of 'Royal Oppression' can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy 'Jam Breeding Machine'. If the effect of 'Royal Oppression' is activated, and 'Mystical Space Typhoon' or 'Dust Tornado' is chained to destroy 'Royal Oppression', then the effect of 'Royal Oppression' disappears because it is a Continuous Trap Card, and the Special Summon will not be negated. [Re: Amplifier] If you have 'Jinzo with Amplifier', your Trap Cards are not negated and their effects are applied, including 'Aqua Chorus', 'Royal Command', 'Royal Oppression', 'Coffin Seller', 'Forced Requisition', 'Mirror Wall', 'Gravity Bind', 'Rivalry of Warlords', 'Minor Goblin Official', 'Final Attack Orders', 'Pitch Black Power Stone', 'Bad Reaction to Simochi', 'Skull Invitation', 'Skull Lair', 'The Eye of Truth', 'Spirit Invitation', 'Respect Play', 'Ring of Destruction', 'Metalmorph', 'Torrential Tribute', 'Self-Destruct Button', 'Zero Gravity', and 'Big Burn'. [Re: Ancient Gear Beast] If 'Ancient Gear Beast' attacks, the effects of Spell or Trap Cards that are already face-up can still have their effects activated, like 'Ultimate Offering', 'Royal Oppression', or 'Skull Lair'. However, face-down Spell or Trap Cards cannot be activated (flipped face-up), including a face-down 'Ultimate Offering', etc. [Re: Ancient Gear Golem] If 'Ancient Gear Golem' attacks, the effects of Spell or Trap Cards that are already face-up can still have their effects activated, like 'Ultimate Offering', 'Royal Oppression', or 'Skull Lair'. However, face-down Spell or Trap Cards cannot be activated (flipped face-up), including a face-down 'Ultimate Offering', etc. [Re: Conscription] You can use 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon of 'Conscription'. [Re: Crystal Abundance] You can chain the effect of 'Royal Oppression' to this card to negate the Special Summons. [Re: Cyber Dragon] You can negate the Special Summon of 'Cyber Dragon' with 'Royal Oppression', 'Solemn Judgment', or 'Horn of Heaven'. [Re: Embodiment of Apophis] You can negate the activation of 'Embodiment of Apophis' by chaining 'Solemn Judgment' or '7 Tools of the Bandit' or 'Royal Oppression', but you cannot use these against it once it is a monster. [Re: Future Fusion] You can chain 'Royal Oppression' to negate 'Future Fusion' when it is activated (placed face-up on the field). [Re: Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World] If the Special Summon of 'Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World' is negated with 'Royal Oppression', the second part of his effect does not resolve. [Re: Grandmaster of the Six Samurai] If you Special Summon 'Grandmaster of the Six Samurai' and your opponent negates the Special Summon and destroys it with their 'Royal Oppression', 'Grandmaster of the Six Samurai's' effect activates. If your opponent uses the effect of your 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon, 'Grandmaster of the Six Samurai's' effect does not activate. [Re: Hand of Nephthys] You can chain to the activation of 'Hand of Nephthys'' effect with the effect of 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon of 'Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys'. [Re: Insect Queen] If you want to use 'Royal Oppression' to negate the Special Summon of an Insect Monster Token, you chain it to the activation of 'Insect Queen''s effect during the End Phase. [Re: Monster Gate] Your opponent can chain 'Royal Oppression''s effect to negate 'Monster Gate''s effect. [Re: Morphtronic Celfon] 'Royal Oppression' can be chained to the Attack Position effect of 'Morphtronic Celfon'. [Re: Scapegoat] If the effect of 'Royal Oppression' is chained to your 'Scapegoat' your Sheep Tokens will not be Special Summoned and you still cannot perform any Summons that turn. [Re: Sillva, Warlord of Dark World] If the Special Summon of 'Sillva, Warlord of Dark World' is negated with 'Royal Oppression', the second part of his effect does not resolve. [Re: Vampire Lord] When you Special Summon Vampire Lord with his effect, your opponent can negate the Special Summon with 'Royal Oppression'. Since the effect of 'Vampire Lord' activates in the Graveyard, 'Vampire Lord' is never moved from the Graveyard, so it is never destroyed. (A card already in the Graveyard cannot be destroyed). Because it is not destroyed, its effect to Special Summon itself does not activate again. [Re: Voltanis the Adjudicator] 'Royal Oppression' can be used to negate 'Voltanis the Adjudicator's' effect to Special Summon itself. [Re: Wild Fire] You can activate 'Royal Oppression' in a chain to 'Wild Fire'.
- Passcode: 93016201
- Set: Dark Beginnings 2
- Card Number: DB2-EN200
- Rarity: Rare
- Attribute: Trap
- Card Text: Pay 800 Life Points. Negate the Special Summon of a monster(s), and the effect that Special Summoned the monster(s), and destroy both. Both you and your opponent can use this effect.
- Card Type: Continuous Trap
- Name: Royal Oppression
- Edition: Unlimited